Roof Fire Ratings 101

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Roofing

In terms of their resistance to fire, roofing systems can be classified as Class A, Class B, Class C or Unrated. So, when shopping for roofing materials, make sure to look into their fire ratings, and ensure that you are getting a type of roof that is suited for your home or building. Check local building codes to know if your roof should have a specific fire rating.

Here are the four fire ratings.

Class A

Class A is suitable for any type of home, but it is most recommended for homes that are located in fire-prone areas. This fire rating basically means that the roof material is effective against severe fire exposure. It can withstand a maximum flame spread of six feet and last for two to four hours before ignition. Furthermore, it can resist 15 cycles of gas flame.

Class B

Your roofing contractor may also recommend Class B roofs, which can withstand a maximum flame spread of eight feet and last for one hour before ignition. These roofs can resist eight cycles of a gas flame.

Class C

Class C roofing can only offer minimal fire protection. It can only last for 20 minutes before ignition and withstand a maximum flame spread of 13 feet. It can resist three cycles of a gas flame.


The Unrated classification is given to roofing systems that cannot pass even the requirements for Class C rating. It is best to avoid roofs marked with this fire rating as they won’t be able to provide adequate fire protection.

Warranty Roofing and Construction is a local company that has been trusted by homeowners for several years. Apart from roof repair and leaks, we also have expertise in roof replacement, storm damage and much more. Call us at (214) 432-4380, or fill out our contact form to request a free estimate.